Page Contents

Overview

If you are a Bintray user and have already created your own repositories and packages, you can then add versions of the packages. Versions are periodical releases of the software represented by the package; versions are the Bintray entities that hold the files.

You can create, edit and manage your versions as follows:

Creating a New Version

A version is the immediate entity that holds uploaded files and therefore creation of a version is a mandatory step on the way to uploading files into structured order of the Bintray system. Since a version is by definition a subset of a package, a version can only be created from within a package. Versions can only be created by logged-in users. A version of a package can only be created by the owner of the package or by the owner of the repository to which the package belongs.

To create a new version:

  1. If you are the owner of the package, click New Version on the Package page. If you are the owner of the repository to which the package belongs, you can also click New Version that is located next to the corresponding package on the Repository page

    Repository page Package page

    In either case, the Create New Version page is displayed, showing its Version Details form.

  2. In the Version Details form in the Create New Version page, you can enter some basic details, but only the version name is mandatory. Once you have filled in the name, and the first time you click the Save Changes button, the version is created and the Edit Version page is displayed instead of the Create New Version page.

    The reason this page is displayed is that even though the version is already created, you still need to edit it. On the left side of the page, there are three links that lead to three forms of version editing: Version Details (the current one), Attributes List (optional) and Screenshots (also optional).

Clicking Cancel on any of the forms of the Edit Version page takes you back to the Version page of the newly-created version.

Now that the version is created, it can be edited, reviewed and - most importantly - files can be uploaded to it manually or using tools.

Editing a Version

The details of an existing version may be edited when necessary. Editing a version can only be done by its owner (or, if it is a version of package belonging to a repository that is within an organization, by any member with the proper authorization).
Note that editing a version means editing its metadata details (and even some of these cannot be changed after initial creation); it does not mean editing the data in it (which is done by uploading files manually or using tools).

To edit a version, access the relevant Version page and click the Edit button under the version name.

Version Details

The Edit Version page is displayed, showing its Version Details form.

Edit Version: Version Details

This is where you may change the version’s release date and the description (you may also change the references to the GitHub user, repository and tag, to enable Importing Readmes and Release Notes from GitHub). Note that you must click Save Changes before leaving this form.

Attributes List

Version attributes are user-defined attributes of a version in addition to the default version metadata fields. User-defined means that you can set the name of field of data itself (the category), not just assign a value to it.

In the Attributes List form, you can optionally add/edit the version attributes. Simply click the Add New Attribute link.

You can add as many user-defined attributes to a version as you like.
The new attributes appear in the General tab of the Version page.

New attributes in Version page
There is a similar feature for packages, package attributes.
Don’t forget to click the Update button (the "plus" sign on the right ) when you are done adding or editing each attribute.

Screenshots

In the Screenshots form, you can optionally add/edit the version’s screenshots. Simply click the Upload Screenshots link and select the files you want to upload.

Don’t forget to click Update when you are done adding or editing a set of screenshots.

Clicking Cancel on any of the forms of the Edit Version page takes you back to the Version page.

Version Metadata

The metadata fields that define a version are as follows:

In the Version Details form:

  • Name: Entered by user at the time of the creation of the version and cannot be changed.

  • Release Date: By default, the date on which the version is created. However, this date may be changed at any time.

  • Publish Date: This date is assigned automatically by Bintray to indicate the date on which the first file of this version was published.

  • Description: Free text that is added optionally by users who care about informing people about their version. This text description may be entered at the time of the creation of the version and it may be edited at any time later.

  • Choose GitHub Tag: For the purpose of importing files from GitHub to Bintray, this field is used to indicate which tag (release) in GitHub corresponds to this version. The tag in GitHub must be inside the repo that corresponds to the Bintray package in which this version is.

  • GitHub Release Notes File: For the purpose of importing a release notes file from GitHub (to serve as release notes for the version in Bintray), this field indicates the folder and filename (under the repository indicated in the field GitHub repository) of the release notes file in GitHub (note that this field is only enabled if there is a valid value in the field GitHub Repository in the Edit Package page’s Package Details form). The file in GitHub from which the release notes text is imported must be under the repository in GitHub and not under one of the tags or releases.

In the Attributes List form:

  • Version attributes are user-defined attributes of a version in addition to the default version metadata fields. User-defined means that you can set the name of field of data itself (the category), not just assign value to it.
    A version may have several such user-defined attributes.

In the Screenshots form:

  • Screenshots of the software may be attached to any Version, accompanying the files uploaded to the version. These screenshots can be anything that the uploading user considers relevant for the downloaders informing about or promoting the software. Only the version owner may upload these screenshots (or, if the version belongs to an organization, any user in the organization with authorization to edit the version).
    Note that all the regular rules and guidelines of copyright still apply.

When displayed in Bintray, additional information about a version is displayed (reviews, number of watchers, etc.) This is the data stored in the version in the form of Bintray entities such as uploaded files and the info about Bintray interactions such as members watching the package the version belongs to.

The version metadata is set when when the version is created and may be changed when the version is edited later.